2007 News

Return to list

Family Health Center to hold 35th annual meeting

September 07, 2007

WORCESTER - The Family Health Center of Worcester Inc. will honor Worcester Councilor-At-Large, Dennis L. Irish and Joseph H. Oyer, MD at their 35th Annual Meeting on Monday, September 10, 2007.

Councilor Irish will be receiving the 2007 "Healthy Communities" award to recognize his contributions to Family Health Center, which includes chairing the "Art in the City" event to raise essential operating funds for the organization. Dr. Oyer will be presented the "Dr. Felix G. Cataldo Lifetime Achievement" Award in recognition of his commitment to caring for all in need. This award was dedicated to an important community member, Dr. Felix G. Cataldo, during Family Health Center's Annual Meeting in 2005, which took place shortly before his passing in 2005. Cataldo family members will be in attendance as the award in his honor is presented to Dr. Oyer.

The Annual Meeting will feature a brief business meeting, which will include reports from Family Health Center committees and the election of a new slate of officers for the coming year. The following Class C Board members will be reelected to a three-year term: Rev. Louis G. Bond, Thomas Manning, Janice MorganJones and Joseph O. Scardino. The following board members willl be recommended for office in the coming year: Janelle Salmon-Person as Chairperson, Honee A. Hess as Vice-Chairperson, Thomas Manning as Treasurer, Nancy Simpkins as Clerk and Marjorie Purves as At-Large Member. Family Health Center will also say goodbye to some departing board members: Tracy Brubaker, Reina Estrada and Leon Nigrosh.

The Annual Meeting and Reception takes place at 6:30 in the lobby of Family Health Center on 26 Queen Street in Worcester. Tours of the Health Center and light refreshments will be available. The event is free and open to the public.